First, I need to say a big THANK YOU to everyone who reached out to me after my last update expressing their support, offering prayers and help.  Neel and I are constantly overwhelmed with how much love is around us and how much people are willing to set aside their own struggles and obligations to be there for us – thank you, thank you, thank you.

img_2367-2A meal train was started for us by our sweet neighbor and two weeks of meals were set up in just a few hours – I have tears in my eyes thinking about how awesome this is.  You guys are just awesome.  I love our village (village in the broad sense, and also the literal sense – Kenesaw is technically a village ;).

And even more people have reached out who still want to help.  And I have been thinking about how to respond because I have realized that it is good to let people help you, because it can be a blessing to them to show that support.  And although Neel would love the meal train to last a couple months (am I really that bad of a cook??), we feel so supported with what we have coming.

So to those who have said they still want to help or bring something, there’s two ways:

First, come visit me!  I will be laid up for awhile and friends and conversation are always good medicine (and I think coffee and wine are allowed! I’ll double check with my surgeon…).

Second, the time and effort you were going to use to make a meal for me, I’m sure there is someone else you can think of who could use that blessing.  Please consider still doing that good deed for the many others around us who are also fighting their own battles.

This picture doesn't have much to do with this blog topic, just wanted to share my cute little girl.

This picture doesn’t have much to do with this blog topic, just wanted to share my cute little girl.

I have been extremely humbled by all the love and good deeds we have been the recipients of – and I think it’s lesson #452-gazillion I have learned from this experience that I hope to never forget.  And that is make an effort each and every day to step outside myself and my own mess to focus on somebody else and find a way I can help them.  This stage in my life isn’t always the most conducive to that, I have definitely taken more than I have given lately, but this phase is hopefully nearing an end and I look forward to paying it forward as others are in need, too.

And the other half of this post – answered prayers.

In a rare quiet moment tonight, I was thinking that I needed to update the blog because I had received my tumor marker numbers from my endocrinologist last week.  My tumor markers had gone up, which means an increase in cancer activity.  She said it was good that surgery is scheduled, and this was another indication that it was time to remove the tumors.

This was a week ago, and I can’t believe it has taken me this long to put it together that this was the ANSWERED PRAYER!  This spring when I asked for prayers for a clear direction on what to do, well I got it.  It’s time for this surgery…it’s time to move forward…it’s time to trust and step out of our holding pattern we have been in.

Thank you again to all of you.  Please keep the prayers coming – because I see each and every day that God is answering all of them.

Love,
Ang

 

 

