First I’ll start out with nothing too much health wise to report.  I went to a regular ‘ol doctor yesterday for a persistant cough.  I hadn’t been to a family practice doctor in a year and half.  He said, “Wow, I haven’t seen you in a while, you must be pretty healthy.”

Hrmmm…how to answer that.  I guess I’m healthy.  But then I say, “Well, yeah, except the whole cancer thing.” And he’s like, “oh yeah…well, how is that all going?”  And gone are the days of in and out of a doctor’s appointment with a prescription for an antibiotic.  I am thankful this doctor took his time to really get to know what’s been going on since I’ve seen him last, but I feel a little guilty taking up so much of his time, and a little disappointment because I always was a little bit proud of my perfect health history pre-cancer.  But hopefully I will get to be a boring patient again someday.

Something else I wanted to share was from a blog I follow regularly about a young mom who battled cancer last year.  I often have said on my blog how I am thankful for cancer…which is odd to say.  Libby, on her blog, often says that too, and she said it again recently in a way that I totally relate to, but can’t always find the words to say.  So, I’m going to let her do it:

“i am thankful for cancer. if you read this blog you have heard it before and you will hear it again. i love that i am thankful for something that still makes me cry when i talk about it. that brings me right back to all of it. every last bit of it. i get a lump in my throat the size of an orange and i have hard time keeping it together. that thing. that crazy…i actually had cancer? not a day goes by where i do not say that sentence in my head. the thoughts of i could have died. but i didn’t. i hate so much about cancer but yet remain grateful for how it literally continues to transform everything.

don’t waste your life changer. 
don’t waste your valley.
don’t waste your mountain top. 
the Lord is in it all.”
Her full post is here.  I encourage you to read it.  We all have our life changers…and we can use whatever it may be to better our own lives and others.
