Hey Everyone!

Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Exciting news…I got my Mayo Clinic appointment and it is going to be October 5th.  This is a whole month sooner than I thought I would be going, plus it’s with the doctor we really wanted to see.  I feel so relieved that everything is set up there and we’ll get their opinion on everything.

Also, the UNMC Tumor Board met and everyone there agreed that it’s okay to wait three months and re-run all my scans and bloodwork and see what things look like.  They all agreed there isn’t overwhelming evidence to jump in right now and do a treatment or surgery, and waiting three months will provide a clearer picture of what is going on, and provide more optimal results if surgery is the answer.  Their philosophy, “If it’s cancer, it will grow,” so we’ll know more as we watch it.  It does sound like they think surgery is inevitable, it’s just not optimal right now and best to wait.

So, we’re waiting…some days I’m more patient than others, but it helps to stay busy and try to live a normal life.  The vegan diet has been more changed to vegetarian that doesn’t eat milk or cheese (I couldn’t give up ALL dairy), and it’s going pretty well.  I think I’ve eaten more salads and veggies these last two weeks than I have in the entire last six months, so it’s a step in a right direction for sure.

Thank you everyone for the words of encouragement and the prayers.  They help more than you know!

—Ang

